Now heres the thing, i have no buying experience with real Gibson Les Pauls. I want a real one. Nothing below a standard. Im probably gonna look to spend $1500-2000, but obviously the lower the price the better as this will probably tap me out for a while. What should i look for? Specific years? Good place to buy? BTW im definatly going used. What am i actually looking at spending? Any information would be very helpful.

PS. My favorite les paul models are the customs, but i am pretty sure those are outta my price range. or are they?

Thanks guys.
Good decision.

EDIT: Sorry I'm not much more help than that lol, I have a Classic Antique but I'm not sure you can get that particular one anymore. I'd probably go with a Traditional Pro nowadays... or an Axcess, but thats probably a little out of the old price range.

I'm definitely getting an axcess one day.
Last edited by Nickpocalypse at Jun 10, 2011,
I'm not a huge fan of the sound of a Les Paul, but I love the look. So I prefer P-90 Les Pauls as opposed to the humbucker models, but it all depends on the sound you're going for. That's just my personal opinion on the matter.
If it's creative, true to your musical goal, and it sounds good, put it in the song.

1. Guitar, delay, verb, amp, and creativity.
2. Well-tuned acoustic piano and creativity.
3. A bottle of water.
Stay away from LP Studios. They're not bad for an intro into the LP sound but if you want an LP used customs aren't a bad idea. $2000 is pushing it on used Customs though. For that kind of money you can custom build a pretty badass Carvin or get a really nice PRS. if you want an LP just to say that you have an LP then by all means have fun when you get one. If you're getting one because you just like the look then I would look into the aforementioned brands. For $1500-2000 you can find nice guitars that look like LP's but sound way better