After considering it for a while, and taking the advice of many people on this forum, I have decided to finally sign up for vocal lessons.

At this point I'm pretty much a complete beginner and I want to sign vocals along with my guitar and not make people want to rip their ears out and dip them in acid.

I have recorded a few vocals of my beginning progress and hopefully I can hear a difference over time.

I wonder however, how long _on average_ does it take to start hearing noticeable results in a beginner's voice if I practice at least an hour daily and take a 30 minute lesson each week?

I'm very excited to see where this takes me. In the end, if I can't sing worth a damn even with practice, at least we'll find out now
Searching for the perfect gear is endless. Buying a better amp you may notice how shitty your guitar is and vice versa. I've spent thousands of dollars in pursuit of the perfect sound, which I'll never completely capture. -B. Corgan
Depends entirely how and what you practice, which will affect what difference you hear. At first you should be going up and down scales, and trying to hit notes in chords by ear, not singing along to bands. That said, not more than 2 weeks really, and you should hear yourself getting easier to listen to.
if you go from beginner to practicing an hour every day in any situation youre going to see instant improvement. and if you cant sing even after all that practice it just means that youre trying for the wrong thing. all im saying is that curt cobain did pretty good and i dont think hed ever be able to sing pop.
it will vary person to person to nboticed skill increase

But i think you will be able to notice consistency with your vocals in only a few short weeks
cause you will start understanding what you should be doing with your body for optimum tone, notes and breathing

Best of luck
Thanks for all the great replies.