Im completly new to theory and already it feels like my head is going to explode so please keep your answers simple. I'am looking at the notes which make up a key signature in a book. Does the key signature determine the key of the song and if I wanted to write a song could I only use the notes (chords) which are deterimined in a certain key signature to keep it in key?
It will tell you the notes in the key, but not the key itself.

E.g. A key signature has one sharp [F#]. It could be E minor or G major.

And you can use outside notes. They're just called accidentals.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
Keys signatures show the key by showing which notes are sharpened or flattened. This lowers the key selection to two options in more music, the Major or relative Minor. And no, you are not limited to these notes. If in minor, you will often find the 7th note to be sharpened (or natural if flattened in the key). This gives it a stronger pull to minor. So no, you are not limited at all
Schecter C-1 Classic in Seethru blue <333
Schecter Damien FR
Roland AC-60 acoustic amp
Boss GE-7 EQ
Line6 Ubermetal Distortion
Sigma Dx Acoustic
Quote by hellybelly
Does the key signature determine the key of the song
Almost. It helps you to identify the key.
and if I wanted to write a song could I only use the notes (chords) which are deterimined in a certain key signature to keep it in key?
Yes, but you don't have to.

Simply put, just like the english alphabet uses exactly 26 letters out of thousands of characters and symbols available, a key determines 7 notes you can use out of twelve existing in western tonal music.

But not just any 7 notes. All the notes in each key follow stickt patterns. These patterns are the intervals. There is a recurring system that you can find in all the note sets of all the keys. That's what we call the scales.