Hello good people,

What is this I hear about active pickups sounding horrible through solid state amps?

I'm looking to buy a new guitar next year and I'm wondering which I should buy. The 2 guitars are in a similar price range and one has active pickups and the other has passives.

[Ibanez RGA32 for active and Ibanez RGR321EX for passive]
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
not that they sound horrible
but they are made to push amps into distortion
and solid state clipping does not sound good

but if you can keep it form clipping you can have a decent tone
Active pickups were made to push amps harder than passive ones.
On a tube amp, this usually means better tone as the tubes respond very well to being pushed.
On a solid-state amp, it will sound decent as long as you limit the amount of added gain. If you push a solid-state amp too hard, you will cause transistor clipping - in other words, horrible, harsh and unusable distortion.
Ceci n'est pas une signature.
I run active pickups into a Spider IV 75 and it doesn't clip at all, although I play through a roland cube (which i guess is the SS you're talking about) during my lessons and it really seems to push it, so I have to back off the volume a bit and soften my picking. Also, if i accidentally twang a string then it's really loud, so it depends how high the output is and what amp you're using.
Periphery, love that shit!
Quote by GS LEAD 5
Use your ears.

This.

Quote by GS LEAD 5
Run an EMG through an MG, the result is shit.

Oi. -_-

Although, to be fair, I might have just got a one in a million MG, I've heard of it happening before. Mine truly does have CRUSHING OVERDRIVE, I shit you not.
Gear:
Yamaha RGX620DZ
Ibanez TK999HT
Marshall MG50FX (One that sounds good! :O )
Ibanez RG470