Hello
I am a complete novice, ive also been told that at 38 im too old to learn the guitar, beginning to think the geezer was right, i bought a guitar for dummies book and have been working my way through it, not really getting anywhere. (trying for about 6months)
so my question is i need pointing in the right direction on what i should practice or a really good book that i could buy.
Thanks Mick
FWIW - we're the same age and I just started too, 4 months ago. I am taking lessons at a guitar shop and it's good for me, as each week I have someone checking in on my progress, giving me helpful insights, answering my dumb questions, etc. I think it just takes a while to get going....so hang in there, keep practicing, and don't give up!!
Quote by Danjo's Guitar
If you can play guitar more easily while standing on your head and spinning, then go ahead, even if its not what everyone else does.

Quote by Larz89
www.justinguitar.com

There is no other way...

Justin is a great teacher, but don't be an idiot; just look at every great guitarist in history who learned it when there was no internet or Justin Sandercoe.
Quote by SteveHouse
This thread is officially about sucking Sleaze off for a sig.

Quote by tayroar
Hey Sleaze I'll give you a blowjob if you sig me. Maybe even some nudey photos?

Quote by crazy8rgood

Sleaze, that made me lulz in my pants.

Quote by 36mikeyb36
hahaha Sleaze i'd give you my mom for that one.
Quote by Sleaze Disease
Justin is a great teacher, but don't be an idiot; just look at every great guitarist in history who learned it when there was no internet or Justin Sandercoe.

Of course lol, it was a joke...

With a foundation of truth (I think in this time and day, justin is a great free teacher who has a nice structured course)
Last edited by Larz89 at Jun 12, 2011,
I started much younger granted, but what I did was firstly just learn some easy songs that I liked. Looked up some exercises and practiced them.