So i've had plenty of not so spectacular experiences with standard and signature models of guitars and feel I want to graduate to custom guitars... Well, after I get gmw replica of Randy's spotted v *drool*... And i've been keeping an adulterous eye on Jackson over my beloved Dean and saw their custom shop page.

Now here is the meat of my post... Help me with the right everything! I got a little overwhelmed with the options...
What to choose for body and top woods? What the hell is a top wood and should it differ from the body wood?
What's this arch top/mirror top dealio?
And body scalloping? (This I figure is like the bevel you see towards the back side of the v's)
What to choose for neck and fingerboard woods?
Nut and butt width?
Scale length?
Neck back shape?

Ya... That's a lot, I know... But if anyone can help my with ideas of the best options to get for a thrash guitar
1. Woods: Body Wood-duh, needs no explanation
Top Woods: where the wood differs from the body. its generally for decoration , or like if you love a flamed or quilted maple look but prefer the sound of a mahogany body you can have both. Stay away from basswood. Korina, Mahogany, Swamp Ash, things like that.

2. Arch top-Mirror top: Well I'm not sure about mirror top but i believe arch top is what you normally see on PRS guitars and the like (an arched body, tends to bevel outwards from the guitar)

3. Body scalloping: This is more than likely the depth of the cutaway on the guitar, but im not entirely sure about that. EDIT: Yep it is. Get the Scalloped Horn and Heel. Makes for more comfort playing higher up.

4. Neck woods: I would go with what you normally like. Maple is always a good choice. You could even see if they have a Carbon Epoxy/Fiberglass blend that seems to me to be slicker and faster than an Ibanez neck. Rosewood is a good choice for finger boards, as is ebony. Finished Maple is also a good choice.