Not sure whether or not this is something I should be checking other threads for, but if it is, sorry in advance.

Im a pretty huge theory noob, for starters, but the last month or so I've been diving into it and trying to teach myself. I just recently picked up on the construction of scales such as the Major and Minor scales...but now im in a bit of a pickle...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0I0PiWiDqQ&feature=player_embedded

I was listening to this song and playing along to it, when I realized I was playing with a bunch of shapes and patterns that I wasnt very used to or am familiar with, and when I sat down and tryed to work out the steps I seemed to be playing, starting from the first fret of the E (so an F), I came out with this:

H W W W H W W

What the hell am I playing? It doesnt seem to be a major or minor construction unless you start the major on the first half step or the minor on its last half step...basically, im pretty confused. Assistance, ye who are much more educated in this regard then I?
I believe thats the last "half" (part) of the major scale.
Understand nothing, in order to learn everything.

Quote by liampje
I can write a coherent tune ... But 3/4? I play rock, not polka.
aint that the Fphrygian mode?

its the C# major scale starting on the third note if i member correctly
Last edited by supersac at Jun 12, 2011,
Those are the intervals for playing in Phyrgian mode. If "F" is your root note and you are using those intervals, then you would be playing in the key of D flat.
I...suppose it is. I dont have any knowledge regarding modes and what not really so...I suppose so, ha. So its just a major scale that doesnt start on the first whole step...but could it also be a minor scale thats starting on the uh...fifth note?
Quote by Insanity 101