Hey, I'm gonna be getting a 60's tribute gibson sg for grades, and I kinda wanted to get some sort of tremolo arm fitted onto it. I'm gonna be working at my dad's car garage for the summer, so there won't be a big shortage of tools or cash. My dad's kind of a Boat guy too, so he has a bunch of wood-working stuff if needed.

I have to admit, I have no experience with wood working or anything, and i don't want to ruin the guitar, so anything that wouldn't require a crapload of routing or anything like that would be appreciated.

I'm still debating on wether to do this, but I love the way SG's with tremolo arms look, and I like to be able to minipulate feedback with it.
well you cant just get a tremolo arm.. you need a bridge that is setup for tremolo. im assuming yours isnt right now.
is yours a TOM? if so there are a few options. search and ye shall find. if not, theres even more options.
depending what you get it can be super easy and require basically no work, or it could require a buttload of work.
look up (assuming yours is a TOM) Les Trem. that would be an easy option, but not cheap.

i suppose you COULD just add a tremolo arm. drill a hole and stick it in for looks... but... well i wont comment past that. lol
Last edited by xadioriderx at Jun 13, 2011,
if you guitar has a TOM you could look into getting one of these
http://www.vibramate.com/vibramate-v5-ST.php
and a bigsby trem which would require pretty much no cutting or drilling, just the replacing of a few parts
That’s how we’ll know. This is not a test, oh no
This is cardiac arrest

Of a world too proud to admit our mistakes
We're crashing into the ground as all fall from grace
^vibramate or just don't be a pussy and just drill 4 holes in your guitar for the bigsby