Page 1 of 2
I have an Ibanez GAX50. I put in an Ibanez V8 bridge pickup and a duncan designed SGesq pickup from a gregg bennet TR2. Action adjusted, Added a second volume pot. and I love the thing. I have a pretty nice strat, but for the metal and punk this thing just screams. Its like a 90 dollar guitar new. its beat to hell but I just cant find a <$400 guitar that is much better. I've gigged with it and just love it.

Anyone else use a cheap guitar as their main or favorite?
i think you are going to have a wide variety of what people consider "cheap" i was told my fender jaguar and Gretsch Jet pro were cheap guitars. To me cheap is $150 or less... in that case yes, i have an old Teisco that i paid $90 for. i love it!
My favorite guitar (that I own) is an Ibanez GRX70DX. Was one of their jumpstart packages, I wouldn't say it's a great guitar, but to me it is my favorite, mostly because it's the guitar the I started learning with.
I got a used Fender Tele MIM for $225 i think. I love the way it feels and all even more than my silverburst.

Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
my favourite is my £600 fender 60's strat, but i do still love the feeling and 'air' of my ibby GRG170DX

and by the looks of the rest of this thread, base end ibby's are popular throughout. they're wonderful guitars for the price!
Belief is a beautiful armour but makes for the heaviest sword.
I love My Rondo Agile AL3100 it is so BA. Ya if you look at it now it is 419 but when I bought it it was 385 so ya awesome guitar. On another note if you have never heard of a rondo check them out. rondomusic.com IMO best guitars you can get for the money.
Last edited by undertow9x at Jun 14, 2011,