Hello!

I am about to get some recording gear to record vocals and acoustic guitar. But since I'm a beginner when it comes to recording I was wondering what equipments you guys would recommend for someone who is going to record "folk" music (i.e Bob Dylan etc)?

Sound quality is important to me, but my budget is around $430.

I've been looking at these two:

M-Audio Fast Track Pro

&

Audio Technica AT2020

Would this combo be a good one, and how good will the sound quality be?

I am greatful for all advices!
Either get an interface for your computer and go that route or buy a mixer and record straight to tape. Either way you'll need a microphone - a decent condenser microphone would do for both the guitar and the vocals.
That will definitely get the job done. Quality will be good, but your technique will probably need some work when you first start out, so dont credit a poor recording to your gear.

I would, however, suggest a better mic since you have the money. The interface should run you $200ish new, and factor in a cable and mic stand, and you have roughly $200 left. I would use every penny of that on a mic so that you get the best possible quality. I hear good things about the NT1A. I, personally, am a fan of the Bluebird. The AT4040 is also good if you cant get either of the other two. For the Blue and AT, you'll have to look used.
Quote by sandyman323
That will definitely get the job done. Quality will be good, but your technique will probably need some work when you first start out, so dont credit a poor recording to your gear.