Hey whatsup guys,
So basically I need some help picking out a first bass. I've been playing guitar for 5 years so I'm not starting from nothing, and from just playing around I've found that i can play bass to some extent. But anyway, I play mostly rock and metal, stuff like Sevenfold, Metallica, Three days grace, breaking ben, and a lot of other stuff. So can anybody help kinda guide me in the right direction as far as how many strings, some possible brands, and maybe even models? Thanks a lot guys
Oh and I almost forgot budget, probably from around 300-600 dollars
Rock on or die

Guitarist 5 years, Had purpose in life 5 years

Quote by angusfan16
My name is NOT Anus Fan!
Check out Schecter basses. Thats what i got when i got one and i had like the exact same circumstances you have. There pretty good and don't really cost that much (i got mine for $200 and i love it)

P.S. Mine's a Schecter Raiden DLX-4
Quote by Jack Off Jill
Man, thank God the russians created UG. Otherwise, how would I have gotten this information?
Last edited by 100% at Jun 14, 2011,
Before I suggest anything, two questions:

1) What currency are those dollars in? We get people from all over the world here and some dollars go farther then others (USD vs. Australian Dollars for example), and its easier if we don't have to make any assumptions.

2) You need an amp. Do you already have one? Do you have a separate budget for one? Or do you have to get both a bass and an amp with the budget you already posted?
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
Quote by Tostitos
Before I suggest anything, two questions:

1) What currency are those dollars in? We get people from all over the world here and some dollars go farther then others (USD vs. Australian Dollars for example), and its easier if we don't have to make any assumptions.

2) You need an amp. Do you already have one? Do you have a separate budget for one? Or do you have to get both a bass and an amp with the budget you already posted?