I'm a rhythm guitarist in a band. The lead guitarist and I write all of the music (as our bassist and drummer are temporary) and we have nice musical chemistry.

We began with all of the generic progressions and riffs, but we're starting to find our sound and it's a little strange. He will generally write a progression, then I'll write something over it in a different key (I dunno if that's the right way to put it), holding it together with harmonizing notes within the different chords.

For example, here's a simplified version of a recent part we wrote:

Guitar 1:

eb|----------------------------------|
Bb|------7---12---12--------------|
Gb|-9---7---12---11--------------|
Db|----------------------------------|
Ab|-7---5---10---9----------------|
Eb|----------------------------------|

Guitar 2:

eb|-7---9-----2---2----------------|
Bb|-8---10---3---2----------------|
Gb|-9---11---4---2----------------|
Ab|----------------------------------|

As you can see, they aren't exactly written in-key with each other, but they have harmonizing notes within the chords which make it sound "right" (though admittedly not a perfect harmony by any means.)

In my years of covering rock/grunge/acoustic songs, I've never really come across harmonies along the lines of what we write, so I'm just curious if this sort of "harmony" is typically used, and if so, in what genres/bands?
Quote by Winter Sky
I'm a rhythm guitarist in a band. The lead guitarist and I write all of the music (as our bassist and drummer are temporary) and we have nice musical chemistry.

We began with all of the generic progressions and riffs, but we're starting to find our sound and it's a little strange. He will generally write a progression, then I'll write something over it in a different key (I dunno if that's the right way to put it), holding it together with harmonizing notes within the different chords.

For example, here's a simplified version of a recent part we wrote:

Guitar 1: