Hey UG'ers, I am a guitarist wanting to wander into the land of drums. I bought a sound percussion 5 pc drum set and was wondering if there were any resources online to help me learn drums. I am going to teach myself and need a bit of advise.

P.S: I did check the stickys..........we all hate it when someone asks something with the answer right there!(most people don't read those anyway)
Quote by FEngHLyan

She will join the prom.

She insists to wear this lights.

I don't think so.

How can I persuade her?
Protip, if you want to seriously learn, get lessons, they will help a lot. If you only want to learn just to be able to play with your friends, you could get away with self-teaching, but if you're serious about it, then it'd be important to have a tutor to stop you from teaching yourself poor technique that'd be difficult to un-learn later, where it'd hold you back.

And again, if you're serious about it, you'll need to devote a fair amount of practice to a practice pad, to work on your rudiments: Your stick control, technique, etc. Any good drummer will agree that it helps immeasurably to split your practice about 50/50 between drums and pad. I usually just sit listening to podcasts for half an hour or so a day, working on my drum pad. I wouldn't try and devote your full attention to it, otherwise you'll get bored quickly xD

Besides that, I find it easiest just to look up various drum beats using GuitarPro files on UG. If I ever hear anything cool, I'll track it down on here, examine the drum tab, then learn it. There are probably a few other good websites for that kinda thing, too.

Anyways, welcome to the world of hitting things with sticks to make lound noises
Rotten Playground
Listen to me and Jameh muck about on a podcast
as if you have anything better to do.

Quote by Reverend_Taco
Grass stains on my dicks

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Pfft. Gay? Nah, gay is the manliest sex that exists.