Hello I am an amateur acoustic guitar player. I have all the main chords down until I start singing then all the barre chords fall apart. This is mainly because I have to look at a chord chart and sing lead into a mic and I just have no time to look at the neck.

Am I doomed to playing crap sounding cheater chords just so I can play at performance level? Even a slight misjudge in distance on the neck and the song is screwed so I can't really afford to not look at some of my barre chords.

Any suggestions/help/links are much appreciated. This is a very under discussed topic; whereas, I can find almost 0 useful info on it. Only those whom have experience playing lead while singing an entire song please.

Thank You
you have to learn the song withouth having to look at anything first then sing

once youve got more practice it should become easier

also helps if you know your chords better
So you're saying I should be looking at the neck when I need instead of a chord chart? I don't do the same 10 songs over and over I do an arrangement of more then 200 songs so some of the more complex ones I need something to look at or risk forgetting 1 crucial lyric/chord and screwing the rest of the band.

Is there anything I can do to practice sliding bar chords without looking, playing them over and over doesn't seem to net any progress nor does not looking and trying. For instance going from a C#m to B flat while singing quickly seems impossibly hard without looking at the neck.
Boy! I'm with ya on this one. I've been playing [wrong] for waaay too many years ; and developed the crutch of using the charts rather than memorizing or "feeling" the tune flow.

I found that starting with a (reasonably) well know tune with easy chords; then instead of playing/watching, I simply sing the song and [force myself to ] play along. Seems to be working, so far Expand repertoir as you can by reaching and learning some new works.