Okay guys I need some assistance. But before that, let it be known I am a fairly big newb when it comes to guitar set-ups although I am trying to learn. Typically all the work I would do on a guitar I would get done at a music shop. So go easy on me

Basically, the situation I have now is that I enjoy playing metal (more specifically metalcore/classic heavy/thrash) but I don't have a guitar set-up for it. The artists I cover with my band typically play in Drop C to Drop D tuning, but I wouldn't mind getting a guitar set-up for the range of Standard B tuning to Drop D tuning (if possible to stretch this far; if not then from Standard B to Drop C).

I currently own a Fender Strat HSS American Deluxe and an Edwards E-LP 92SD like those you see in the links provided. I am thinking of tuning the Fender for rock/blues/hard-rock and potentially using the Edwards for the metal set-up.

However, I am unsure whether the Edwards LP would be suitable for metal/core/thrash etcetera. Would using the Edwards be a good choice for a metal tune? If so, how should I go about doing so? (I was thinking EMG 81/85, heavy gauge strings, getting it set-up professionally)

If the Edwards is not a good choice, I was thinking of purchasing another guitar for metal. If so, what are some recommendations for such a set-up. I'm more used to the Fender's neck and I do enjoy using the tremolo a lot (although both aren't too essential). I was thinking along the lines of a DBZ Halcyon GX, an ESP EX (or other similar) series guitar or a Schecter, which I can pick-up from eBay or a store for not too much.

I will probably by buying a new amp soon as well and was going to go with a Marshall AVT stack or other similar. I currently use a solid state 100w amp (which does the job okay).

Sorry about the essay, I just wanted to be specific Any other information I can provide so you can better assist me I can! Fire away UGers.