"There are many ways to skin a cat", so the saying goes (aside from desperate hunger, I can't figure out why someone would do it. But that's me). Well, there are even more ways to learn the best instrument in the world: the guitar.

Which do you think is best: formally taught or self-taught? What's your experience?

-6SV
Quote by 6StringVeteran
"There are many ways to skin a cat", so the saying goes (aside from desperate hunger, I can't figure out why someone would do it. But that's me). Well, there are even more ways to learn the best instrument in the world: the guitar.

Which do you think is best: formally taught or self-taught? What's your experience?

-6SV

If u've got a good teacher, self taught. It helps having someone to tell u what what your doing wrong.
How did your favourite guitarists learn to play? Be like the people you want to be like. There are so many resources available on the internet these days for free that weren't around when I was learning. Teachers are everywhere.
Well, my local guitar "teacher" was a Classical Guitar Snob, and I took lessons from him for about a year, then went Self-Taught.

I agree with stoltobot, and I also believe in the "ear taught" method of guitar, in which you use little to no tabs, and figure songs out by ear.
Gear:
Fender FSR Standard Stratocaster SSS (MIM Gilmour Black Strat) -
Agile AL-2000 CSB -
Fender Super Champ XD -
Homemade Talkbox -
THE BORG COLLECTIVE
I prefer self taught, i'm not interested in being as technical as possible or knowing a lot of theory, i'm interested in trying to develop some kind of original sound to my playing and trying to avoid just sounding like 'any other guitarist'. The better you become at guitar, the easier it is to just sound like a generic alright guitar player.
Quote by Zoot Allures