I've got a Schecter Omen Extreme FR with a Floyd Rose Special Whammy Bar System. I've put Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottoms (10 - 52) onto it and set it to Drop B. The strings feel thick enough for this tuning to me but i'm getting an awful lot of fret buzz on every fret, especially on the lower ones. I've raised the saddle slightly to see if it's that end that's too low but it does't change. The strings are less than 2 months old and i haven't done anything else to it apart from setting the saddle level with the body in Drop B tuning.

Can anyone help me get rid of this fret buzz? Ideally i want it to be a home job and i am willing to learn but if push comes to shove i'll take it to a guitar shop.

Any help is appreciated!
Seems like the strings may be too thick and loose.

You may have to adjust the action by the nut.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
Quote by mysterion2112
since when can you raise the saddle on a floyd?

Ok, wrong terminology. Whatever the springs at the back adjust .

Quote by Woffelz
Seems like the strings may be too thick and loose.

You may have to adjust the action by the nut.

I wouldn't say they are too thick, feels about right. When i got my Dean setup i don't think they adjusted the nut.
Last edited by Afroboy267 at Jun 18, 2011,
Quote by Afroboy267

I wouldn't say they are too thick, feels about right. When i got my Dean setup i don't think they adjusted the nut.

he meant the truss rod, loosen it to let the neck bend more(thus raising the strings off of the frets) and tighten it to make it bow less.

the spring claw is what you adjusted, dont use that to try to compensate for fret buzz, you use that to balance the floyd so that it sits parallel to the body with the tension of the strings pulling on it.