I'm a 17 year old kid who will be a freshman at UW-Madison next fall and I'm looking at different career paths/major.Anyway, music and science are the only two things that I truly have a passion for. I believe a music degree would be a dead-end degree for me so I thought,why not learn how amps/electrical circuits work among other things and make that into a career. I've heard that it's a difficult field to get into even if I got a BS in Electrical Engineering so right now I'm leaning towards reconsidering becoming an amp tech. I live near Chicago but I have not heard of any major guitar companies that operate here.
Hi Fj785

I dont know if my comment helps you really but i'm studying electrical engineering in Austria so i think i know a little bit about this topic. In fact you will learn how to build an amp etc. but i dont think you will hear only one word about tube amps especially guitar amps, if your degree course is similar to mine. I mainly learn about microcontrollers, sensors, chipdesign, digital circuit design etc. and there is much you have to learn by yourself to understand it really and completely.
Your skills in math should be really good otherwise it could be really difficult. Laplace transformations, differntial equations, complex numbers are quite common in analog circuit design.
I cant tell you how to get a job in that branche of industry but i think it could get really difficult to get one in the guitar amplifier branche.

but its quite fun to drive your girlfriend crazy with a selfmade alarm system XD
and something i wanted to add... i will try to build a 20 watt tube amplifier completely designed by myself in the next months
Quote by thanadas
Hi Fj785