so my question is simple, at what point does a beginner guitarist become a guitarist? What skills must you know or how many songs must you have learned...?

for example, i have been learning guitar since april 2010. I can play lots of songs and can pick up tabs pretty easily, although i know no skills, ie hammer-ons etc. does this still make me a beginner? or more than that?!

As a musician yourself, do you consider yourself a beginner? or when does a beginner lose that title?
when you become a competent musician...
Quote by EndTheRapture51
Anyway I have technically statutory raped #nice

Quote by EndThecRinge51
once a girl and i promised to never leave each other

since that promise was broken

i dont make promises any more
The better you become, the further you expose the horizons of musicianship. Ask the same question in a year and you'll laugh at the one you're asking now. Same goes for the year after that.

Edit: I've been playing for roughly 8 years and I honestly still consider myself a beginner. I just keep being amazed by new feats of awesome guitarists and musicians. And when I've mastered one skill, I'll be amazed by the next. Only to then realise I never REALLY mastered the first one.
Last edited by Nielsyboy at Jun 20, 2011,
i consider myself pretty competent. i wouldn't say virtuosic, but i'd say that i'm just starting to approach the advanced stage. i can play several instruments, know an assload about music theory and history, composition, fundamental orchestration, and many other topics. i'm a pretty competent guitarist, able to perform most skills at an above average level. i have a very well trained ear (though by no means is it mastered yet), and can read music (though my sight-reading is average at best).

it's good to be able to identify qualities that separate the men from the boys, but don't drive yourself nuts over them. a beginner guitarist is still a guitarist.