I have been playing acoustic for 2 years and wanted to switch to leaarning electric. I play electric on my acoustic guitar by plugging into my amp and going into distortion mode but there is only so much you can do with that.

I spoke to an acquaintance who happens to be a guitar player and asked him for a recommendations. He suggested I go for a semi-professional/ intermediate guitar and not a cheap beginner one. He suggested Ibanez as it can play a variety of styles, he recommended two models

RG350DX - Costs 25,000 Indian rupees (556 USD) http://www.ibanez.com/ElectricGuitars/model-RG350DX

RG350EX - Costs 28,000 Indian rupees (623 USD) http://www.ibanez.com/ElectricGuitars/model-RG350EX

He said the Washburn N2 is also pretty good.

He said not to buy the Epiphone Les Paul Special II because although its great for the price it doesnt have a whammy bar which is not good since im learning.

Any recommendations ?

I also need a decent amp and I've heard a lot about the Peavey Vypyr 15 and it's custom modelling features.
Last edited by joey78 at Jun 21, 2011,
First of all, the les paul special II is pretty crappy. Second, you don't need a whammy bar to learn to play guitar. That's just silly. Third, plugging your acoustic in and playing distortion? that sounds earsplitting.

The two guitars you listed aren't going to be great for starting out because the floyd rose trem is going to be frustrating to get used to. How about you tell us what kind of music you like and what sort of budget you're on?
Gear:
Fender Classic Series 50's Strat
Vox VT15 amp
Bongos

Quote by BillyRamone
Looks like Harry Potter about to fly an old biplane. A lady killer, but the ladies cannot figure out which state he's from - Indiana, or Pennsylvania?
Owns the under 5'2" hotties.
The kind of stuff I like to play is

Guns N Roses (Love the Slash tone), Alter Bridge (Love Mark Tremonti's tone ),Motley Crue ,Poison,metallica,Megadeth,etc