One simple question to everyone: does your downpicking improve the more time you play guitar?
I know this has been talked about before but I never saw this exact question, and I am interested to know the answer. Thanks.
As with anything, the more time you spend practising something the better you get at it.

So to answer your question, yes it does improve with time.
downpicking is old its all about up picking now!!!!!! get with the times jeeez..............
This is a MotherFxcking Invatation
Quote by azzman1337
As with anything, the more time you spend practising something the better you get at it.

So to answer your question, yes it does improve with time.

Thanks a lot for making it sound so simple.
I know that's obvious, but the reason I am asking is because of this: I have been playing since April of 2009, and upto now, I can see I have gotten better in certain areas, such as alternate picking, gallops, etc. I have been playing Metallica songs downpicked as long as I have been playing songs using those other techniques. However, I can barely see any improvement in my downpicking in these 2 years, whereas I have gotten a lot better in those other techniques.
Any tips?

Sometimes when I am super-warmed up I can play the whole 8 minutes of Master of Puppets downpicked but those times come around like, once in every month.
Any advice or suggestions? Thanks for helping a struggling self-taught player!!!
You mentioned "Master of Puppets", if you're a Metallica fan like me, you could begin at easier Metallica songs and downpick them. "Enter Sandman" and "Seek and Destroy" are easy songs, start with them if you haven't already.

The more you practice downpicking, the better you'll be.
Quote by Kill A Kitten
You know that old saying: "Men who play bass in the band have the largest genitalia." Well, it's the same for women.