I've "playing" guitar for about 2 and a half years. I'm decent, and I'm still new to all the technical things. I can kinda tap, and I can just shred really fast when it comes to soloing, nothing really that great. When I try to learn songs, everything sounds off. It's always been like that. No matter how much I practice, everything I play just sounds like complete shit, unless I'm just randomly flailing away at the lower frets and playing super fast, and that's only good to people who don't know shit about guitar. I want to get better so bad, I love guitar. But it's so un motivating when everything you play sounds like complete shit. It's not even just my playing. There's constant ringing from my guitar when I play power chords, and my amp has constant feedback, even with the "drive" completely shut off. Heres my gear:

Dean Dave Mustaine VMNT, Humbuckers, floating bridge
Line 6 Spider IV 15 watts
BOSS DS-1 pedal

I just need some advice on what to do. Should I get new equipment, or is it completley just me that sounds like shit?

I appreciate it guys, and sorry for the Wall Of Text
It's the amp. Spiders sound great to the inexperienced, which I'm not claiming that you are. But it's very true that once you get better sounding equipment, you get more motivated and satisfied with what you play.
Cusp of Magic
You can shred really fast after 2 years, but its only sounds good to people who don't play guitar?

I'm thinking that you're not really shredding. Stop trying to go fast, slow down your practice speed to 60 bpm and then work your way up. I've not come across anyone who can properly shred after 2 years.

1. Get a metronome and practice to that.

That said, I'm not completely doubting you. Your amp probably isn't doing any justice to your tone.

2. Get a new amp.
Quote by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your