Hi guys and gals...

Im fairly new to the guitar world and cant play to save my life (ok thats not true) but find the mechanical and electronic side of things fairly simply and incredibly interesting..

been learning all i can just at home... and have to say i have my LP set up perfectly at this point... but have the neck pickup cutting in and out once and awhile so decided to finally crack the back plate off this new guitar and see what im dealing with... also taking a look around for the 18v mod in the future

as you can see from the picture.... that splice taped up is what im not sure of... its a Epihpone Prophecy LP EX with EMG's.... its not a "cheap" guitar but i know its not the greatest... but it was bought used off musicians friend so cant be sure what someone has done or tried to do... or is that just stock epiphone wiring?
Attachments:
IMG-20110626-00002.jpg
ya no kidding.... i also have a epi lp special 2.... its cheap but its wiring is much better...
but its also got passive pickups... just have no clue if this added mess is because of the EMG's... they did come with the guitar from the factory but maybe they suck at wiring them in.. lol
looks like something I might have wired, I'm just about that messy.
1978 Peavey T-40 -> Ampeg Micro-VR - > Ampeg SVT210AV + Ampeg SVT-15E
If that's stock wiring someone should have a little chat with Epiphone.
Is it soldered together or is the tape holding it?

I definately don't think it's stock wiring as the wire guages are different and the whole tape thing...
..I was watching my death.
i believe it is soldered under the electrical tape....

if someone hasnt done something to this... there is only one thing i can think of...
Epiphone mass produces these things... but the prophecy line has multiple PU options... maybe they only have one harness pre-made then add in the active pups as an afterthought..