Hey I have been playing guitar for 3 and a half years (self taught actually) and I was wondering what other people definition of an intermedite guitarist is. I can read both notes and tab, I have most notes memorized on the neck, I know both major and minor pentatonic scales, and I know most chords that are ever used in songs. A song example that I can play is Fade to Black by metallica. I was just curious if I am considered an intermediate guitarist. Sorry if this isn't relevent, I couldn't find anything online that really answered my question.
My gear:

Fender Highway one Telecaster
Squier Strat (highly upgraded)
Ibanez Rg120
Various effect pedals
Fender Fontman 65r guitar amp
Alvarez rd4102c acoustic-electric guitar
Don't worry about that.

Knowing lots of scales =/= knowing how to use them.
Knowing how to play a song =/= being able to evoke the emotions the song manages to.

Just keep playing and working on your skills.
There's no measurement as to how well you're progressing. Just keep doing what you enjoy and forget about how well you're doing compared to everyone else.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Quote by blue_strat
Don't worry about that.

Knowing lots of scales =/= knowing how to use them.
Knowing how to play a song =/= being able to evoke the emotions the song manages to.

Just keep playing and working on your skills.

Ok thanks so I guess I'm just getting to caught up in that. I'll just keep practicing.
My gear:

Fender Highway one Telecaster
Squier Strat (highly upgraded)
Ibanez Rg120
Various effect pedals
Fender Fontman 65r guitar amp
Alvarez rd4102c acoustic-electric guitar
if you have to ask you probably aren't.
1978 Peavey T-40 -> Ampeg Micro-VR - > Ampeg SVT210AV + Ampeg SVT-15E
Quote by gtrzrule4
Ok thanks so I guess I'm just getting to caught up in that. I'll just keep practicing.

i +1 to everything blue strat said