Hey guys,

I am sorry to bore you with this, but any help would be great. I have been playing guitar for 5 months now and have started to get my head around theory. I basically just **** around on pentatonics over backing tracks, but was wondering if that was it?

If I'm playing in say, Em , then I do jump up or down 5 semitones, which usually also sounds good, or i play the relative major pentatonic to Em. Is there anything else i can do to vary my licks and use more of the fret board?

Cheers guys
Last edited by Johan_Lahs at Jun 26, 2011,
There are a ton of useful tricks in improvising. but you should definitely expand your scale vocabulary first. Learn your major and minor scales all around the fret board. Also, know what notes your hitting and try to play exactly what you're thinking about in your head. A good exercise for that is starting off a solo and only give yourself the option to use three notes (or less!) during the solo. That way you have to think about what might sound good using these notes. I've found a lot of people (including myself!) will just hammer out random passages using box shapes and have no real knowledge of what they just played or what they are going to play and aren't really making any musical statements. And that is very essential to making your improv sound convincing to a listener.
"Forget the rules. If it sounds good, it is good."
-Eddie Van Halen