Ok ya know how an E chord is normally played.
If I played it like this 0xx100. I have the root the third and the fifth. So why not?
Guitars
Squire Strat
1959 Gibson HummingBird Acoustic
1999 Gibson SongBird Acoustic
Pedals
Bad Monkey
Line 6 Pocket Pod
JH-1 Wah (Jimi Hendrix Sig Wah)
Amp
All Tube Marshall JTM-30
Quote by ClassicRock1169
If I played it like this 0xx100. I have the root the third and the fifth. So why not?

well, why?
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
Quote by AeolianWolf
well, why?

Please just help me I'm new to theory
Guitars
Squire Strat
Pedals
Bad Monkey
Line 6 Pocket Pod
Amp
All Tube Marshall JTM-30
Would this still be considered an E chord
Guitars
Squire Strat
Pedals
Bad Monkey
Line 6 Pocket Pod
Amp
All Tube Marshall JTM-30
the duplicate notes ( B and E), make the chord sound fuller and more powerful. Not needed, but definitely helps make chords sound not as thin. But if that's what you're going for, then more power to ya
by the time you read this you will be wasting your time because it doesnt say anything
Quote by hammettrocks
the duplicate notes ( B and E), make the chord sound fuller and more powerful. Not needed, but definitely helps make chords sound not as thin. But if that's what you're going for, then more power to ya

O know that's not what I'm going for. I was just wondering! Thank Ya!
Guitars
Squire Strat
Pedals
Bad Monkey
Line 6 Pocket Pod
Amp
All Tube Marshall JTM-30
Quote by ClassicRock1169
Would this still be considered an E chord

OH. lol.

yeah, it would. you're just omitting two particular notes that would give the chord a fuller sound, since they're in the lower register.