I Have heard of using RIT dye to color a pickguard. I searched, and didn't find what I was looking for. I wanted to get a light gray using the black dye. With one of those aluminum baking tins. Does it need to be in the oven on a low setting? Or, leave it on the counter? How long will it take? Pickguard is white, by the way.
Spread Hope Like Fire

Angels and Airwaves

Et Ducit Mundum Per Lucem
you will get purple if you use black for light grey. i have a lot of experience using RIT, dying lacrosse stick heads. They sell a few kinds of grey dye, which will suit your needs much better. basically boil water, put in the dye (in a container you don't care about that fits the pg) and throw in the pg. check every couple minutes for color.
OK. Well, I dont know what other colors to do with a blue guitar... Maybe red... IDK.
No oven?

EDIT ---
Superman guitar.
Spread Hope Like Fire

Angels and Airwaves

Last edited by jakesc8 at Jun 27, 2011,
Well, if I did red would it turn out pink? Would it be better to put in in the oven on a low setting?
Spread Hope Like Fire

Angels and Airwaves

reds a touchy color. if the red is diluted much yes it will be pink. youd just want a strong amount of dye for red. if its too pink, do it some more!

i wouldnt put my neck on it, but this fiebings leather dye i got for dying the wood on my guitar dyes everything it touches. i would bet it could work for plastics. and i would bet a direct non diluted application would work well with red or any other color. its on ebay for like 8 bucks, comes in a nice size container that will last a longgg time. worth a shot IMO. you can use it on tons of other stuff if not