Ok so I'm a musician (well duh) and I just recently finished making my first full cd. I am going to copyright it before I go public with it. I have one issue though. I use a quote from a movie in one of my songs. Do I have to pay a certain fee or something to make sure my ass won't be sued or is it not possible for me to copyright that song at all? I sent this same question to the US Copyright office but that was 3 days ago with still no reply. Any of you know the answer?
Quote by Dream Floyd
I wore a Justin Bieber shirt to one of my gigs once. I then ripped it off and burned the shirt. One of the most metal things I've ever done.

Quote by Paith
and that thing is super sexy......like megan fox sexy.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
Since when has asking the pit counted as research?
That's not legal, but there is the possibility that no one will do anything about it.
^^The above is a Cryptic Metaphor^^

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity." Everything is made up and the facts don't matter.

MUSIC THEORY LINK
I think people put quotes in their songs all the time.
I know Elvis used a shakespeare quote in one of his songs.
I think it's safe
Quote by kaptkegan
Don't think I've ever been sigged.

I pretty much never leave the drug thread anymore.
It's 100% legal, it's called fair use
\
_\,,
"-=\~ _
\\~___( ~
_|/---\\_
\ \
As long as it isn't from a metallica movie, you should be fine.
Quote by Carmel
I can't believe you are whoring yourself out like that.

ಠ_ಠ
Quote by Metallicuh
I think it's safe

Shakespeare wouldn't sue him, couldn't anyway, after your dead for 70 years in most cases your work becomes public domain.
Quote by KTFM
You'll probably need to pay royalties to the production company who hold the rights to that movie.

KEdit: Do you mean a sound-bite from the movie, or you just quote it in song-form?