Page 1 of 2
So let me get this straight...

In the public sector, your pension will be based on an average of how much you earn throughout your career? And the pension age has been raised to 65 because of an increase of life expectancy?

Have I got this right? Can someone please explain this further for my little brain?
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
Yes that's about right. But teaching is very physically demanding, you can't do it when you get into your 60s, it would be too physically draining.
and with the pensions they now pay more to get less out + they have les money anyway because of inflation and frozen pay.
Thank you, Mistress Ibanez.

So how much is this different from the current system?

Just to clarify, you pay a percentage of your earning into a pension scheme in the current system, right?
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

Quote by Woffelz

Just to clarify, you pay a percentage of your earning into a pension scheme in the current system, right?

I don't know the specifics, but I believe the jist is that they're asking for a higher contribution to the pension system and they're getting a less generous pension. (I tend to keep up with education news, haven't been following the strike action unfortunately.)
Quote by Woffelz

You pay more to get less out. Teachers are approximately £100,000 worse off under the new scheme, because they pay more to get less.

It's just a complete insult.
They raise the age to 65? In the Netherlands it was 65 and it will be raised to 67. I think it should be raised to 70. The current system is too expensive thanx to those babyboomers.
Quote by Carmel
I can't believe you are whoring yourself out like that.

ಠ_ಠ
Quote by Neo Evil11