Hello guys i want to ask a question. if the guitarist plays only power chords say in Dm he plays D-Bb-F-D. can i just use the root & the 5th for the notes or can i add the 3rd or even the 7th notes if I were to create a bassline for it?
do whatever you want. if it sounds good do it. if not dont.
My name is Greg, use it.

Sarcastic

Angry

Hopeful
Quote by bassman10101
do whatever you want. if it sounds good do it. if not dont.

Pretty much this...

Just play, dude. I rarely follow the guitar... i'm a motown-schoooled bassist, and my lines are always on point with the drums to drive the beat forward... with subtle fills to accentuate the vocal lines. A little tasteful flare here and there... But still usually following within the chords the guitarist plays... but not always... I dunno.

Too much theory = dull and dreary.
"Punk Rock should mean freedom, liking and accepting anything that you like, as sloppy as you want, as long as it's good and has passion."
Quote by Din of Win
Pretty much this...

Just play, dude. I rarely follow the guitar... i'm a motown-schoooled bassist, and my lines are always on point with the drums to drive the beat forward... with subtle fills to accentuate the vocal lines. A little tasteful flare here and there... But still usually following within the chords the guitarist plays... but not always... I dunno.

Too much theory = dull and dreary.

+infinity

If you wanna hear a cool bassline that doesnt follow the guitars, listen to "Dead Man's Diary" by Quo Vadis. Also "Crystal Planet" by Joe Satriani.
You could use all of that, and still make a bitchin bass line, but if the guitar is using power chords, then you will have to"define the chord" using thirds. Example: minor chords have a flat third.

But at the end of the day, it only matters if it sounds good.
Understand nothing, in order to learn everything.

Quote by liampje
I can write a coherent tune ... But 3/4? I play rock, not polka.