Alright so I am a student in High School and I am in a band with my next door neighbor (Freshman in college) and a couple of his friends (of course we're all good buds now). And every now and then we will have a band practice / meeting to get stuff done. For this reason, I keep my main amplifier (Crate FW412B Cabinet / Head) at my neighbors house.

The issue is, I'd love to keep it here, but it is such a hassle hauling that thing back and forth if my friend ever wants to jam. I am using a dated Fender G-DEC model here, and I used to love it but I can't work a satisfying tone from it these days. The crate can produce some nice clean or crunch tones of which this cannot, not to mention high gain.

Now I'm looking for some solutions from you guys; Do you think it's worth it to haul it back and forth? Or should I work with my practice amp? Is it time to upgrade from the Crate, seeing as really isn't that awesome as a combo amp? it Maybe you guys could help me out with this G-DEC? Thanks!
its really up to you whether you want to carry your amp back and forth, but a simple solution would be to get a good small amp that can both give you the tones that youre looking for and can keep up with a band.
replace the G-DEC with one of the mid-sized to smaller peavey vypyrs and leave the Crate next door. That is what I would do.

I'd heard the G-DECs are nice, but if you are playing heavier music they're not really versatile in that area...
To be honest Crate cabs are some of the lightest on the market and you should consider yourself lucky that you only have to take it next door, some people have to drive for 30 mins and then haul it up three flights of stairs every week (try doing that with an orange 4x12 then tell me its hard)

I dont mean to sound like an arse hole when i say that but its not that bad, even if you had to take it back over to your house everytime a crate 4x12 isnt that heavy at all, plus your getting some exercise!