I feel totally embarrassed by putting this on this forum, but a little guidance would be of great help.

So, power chords. In my first lesson, my teacher decided we'd learn Smells Like Teen Spirit (not my favorite Nirvana song, but hey). So we slowly play the first riff, a rather simple one. But I'm having trouble moving it more than one fret (Say A to B, for example).

Are there any exercises to gain a little accuracy? Or should I just play the song and it'll work out itself with time?

(I'm also using my pinky now, which I've never done before, so keep that in mind)

Thank you, and excuse my minimal skill at guitar playing
There's room for all of God's creatures; Right next to the mashed potatoes.
If you're still at the point where Smells Like Teen Spirit is challenging, you should keep practicing. You're probably inexperienced enough that time ought to remedy the problem.
Quote by SonOfPest
Its the Lydian mode; formed in Eastern Arabia when the Persians invaded England.

Quote by Blind In 1 Ear
try the sexolydian scale.
Yeah, jut keep practicing until it gets faster; just like open chords. It doesn't take that long to get used to it, compared to the other skills you'll eventually learn.

Remember,
metronome + practice + precision = speed

so just practice slowly and build the speed up.
Quote by jwd724
If you're still at the point where Smells Like Teen Spirit is challenging, you should keep practicing. You're probably inexperienced enough that time ought to remedy the problem.

Why is there this myth that Teen Spirit is "easy"? Because it's not...it's simple yes, but it's not easy.

I bet there's not a player on this forum was fast enough and accurate enough to manage that off-kilter strumming pattern or able to pull off that left hand muting correctly within their first three months of playing.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc