So I've been playing for about 5 or 6 years now. I took lessons for a few years and then started teaching myself. I've only focused on rhythm guitar and now, I find myself stuck. I've got a decent picking hand but I cant seem to get even the simplest of leads. I need some basic advice, and need to know what solos to start on because I want to become a more rounded player. I feel like I should be much farther than I am.

Thanks for the help!
Ha I'm kinda the exact opposite. I like to play fills and soloing but am not the best at creating good chord progressions. If I could make a recommendation I would say to strictly play along with a single song and just have fun soloing over it. You don't have to make it more complicated than it has to be. Just play over it and begin to get a sense of what you want to play and how you want to play it.
^totally agree. i started out as mainly a rhythm player too, but ended up with the lead guitarist role in several bands, and i learned by just playing over different songs and tracks, and listening a lot, and specifically to lead guitar players. I think that's the biggest part is listening to what other players do.
patience solo is a good start, just saying. try that, then try so fine, the gnr song. play to the song. once you can do that its up to you.
just my opinion, since it really helped me break into lead
Quote by Crabpeople17
So I've been playing for about 5 or 6 years now. I took lessons for a few years and then started teaching myself. I've only focused on rhythm guitar and now, I find myself stuck. I've got a decent picking hand but I cant seem to get even the simplest of leads. I need some basic advice, and need to know what solos to start on because I want to become a more rounded player. I feel like I should be much farther than I am.

Thanks for the help!