Hi guys,

I've been playing guitar for about 8 months now and I'm loving every minute of it. I've been playing mostly rock orientated music but my first love, musically, has always been the blues so I wanted to get a guitar with a more bluesy sound.

I was looking at buying an Epiphone Black Beauty; I've looked into it and watched some demos and love the sound of it but I'm very fond of my strat so I was thinking about upgrading that instead to try and get the tone I'm looking for.

My strat is a Squire 20th anniversary strat (I've had it for a good few years but I've only recently started learning to play) and the only change I've made is the strings which I've replaced with Ernie Ball regular slinkys.

So with that rambling introduction over my question is this: should I upgrade my strat (I'm looking at fender cs 69 pick ups) or would I be better off with the Epiphone black beauty?

Even if I do get another guitar I'd probably like to upgrade my strat at some point anyway so any advice you guys can offer on that subject would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!
Depends on the tone you want. Even the best pickups for the strat will never make it sound like a gibson/epiphone guitar.

My 2 cents is to do both.
Equipment:
-Ibanez GIO
-Fender American Standard Strat HSS
-Acoustic Schneider Guitar
-ARIA STB-PB-DX Bass
-Vox VT50AD-XL
-Roland Cube-30 Bass
-Digitech RP-250
-Blue guitar pick
Proud Member of UG's 80's Rock Fan Club
Hello Franky!

I'm in the process of upgrading my own squire! I've been playing for a lot longer than you, so I probably kow how to define my desired tone better, which pickups I'm interested in and so on. Until you are as familiar as you're comfortable with regarding shaping your tone, you might find yourself buying loads of candies and ending up dissappointed. (Not ment to scare you off, only as a little warning)