Anything wrong with using the pinky with index finger on power chords. I struggle a bit with the stretch when using index and ring especially when getting closer to the nut. I am getting my action lowered soon so it may get easier.
-Mike
its okay if you play that:

d
a 444
e 222

youre not going to be able to play that...
d44
a55
e22
Quote by crohno
i use the pinky finger to play the octave in the power chord

Okay, I am a beginner. What does playing the octave mean?
-Mike
Quote by primus182
its okay if you play that:

d
a 444
e 222

youre not going to be able to play that...
d44
a55
e22

I am not very good at writing out or understanding any of this tab stuff yet:

A 7/5
C# 6/4
F# 4/2
D 7/5

These are the chords to So What by P!nk
-Mike
look, a powerchord: => you play this one with your index and ring vinger.
E-1----
A-3----

a powerchord with an octave: => you play this one with your index, ring and pinky
E-1----
A-3----
D-3----

The nr. 1 stand for first fret (nr2. for seconde fret, etc...)
Last edited by Larz89 at Jun 30, 2011,
Quote by Larz89
look, a powerchord: => you play this one with your index and ring vinger.
E-1----
A-3----

a powerchord with an octave: => you play this one with your index, ring and pinky
E-1----
A-3----
D-3----

The nr. 1 stand for first fret (nr2. for seconde fret, etc...)

This is a little confusing for me. There is no E note on the first fret and there is no A note on the third fret
-Mike
Quote by Steve635z
The E and A are denoting the open string.

I think I understand. You play first fret on the E string and third fret on the A string. There are two E strings, though. Is it the low E string?
-Mike
Yeah you're right with both of those things.

Also i've always used my pinky for power chords and never had any problems, there are maybe a few occasions when you might need to use other fingers but you should be fine most of the time.