Hey everyone,

So I've been playing guitar now for about 4 years and I'm looking to get a serious axe. I like playing heavy down tuned stuff, mostly in drop Bb/A# however you like. I'm looking to spend no more than 1000$.

I'm looking to buy a baritone that is around 28'', with hopefully a set neck and emg/blackouts. However, I can't seem to find anything like this. Mike mushocks from prs is perfect except it doesn't have active pickups and all the bands I like use them. I also am completely knew to the idea of switching pickups and I'm hoping to avoid having to pay some guy to do what is prolly a simple job 100's of dollars.

I also have a question, what is the difference in sound between a neck with a curved top or a flat top?

Anyways, thanks!
The Mike Mushok PRS is a beast of a guitar, it's probably your best option in that range apart from Agile.

As for the EMG argument, they're something of a sticking point in this community, pretty much a love hate thing. My advice would be try and give the Mushok a go and see how you like the passives (which are surprisingly good for stocks) then look into how much it'd be to change them to EMGs if you dislike them (pickup swaps should be $70 tops, but EMGs have a new Quik Connect system which doesn't require a soldering iron, easy as pie)

Also how do you mean about necks with curved and flat tops? Do you mean fretboard radius?
Quote by fleajr_1412
You have amazing taste in men.

Are You a PROG-HEAD? I am.
Yes, fret board radius is what I'm talking about... I think hehe.

Oh and I forgot to mention no 7 - 8 strings, I already suck at 6 lol! 8 )
As far as I'm aware there's little to no difference in sound. The difference is in feel and how it affects the playing action.