I bought a new set of strings today because one of my strings broke yesterday. I had never replaced strings before but it went surprisingly well. I replaced every string according to the color of those colored circles at the end of the strings.

...But I had some trouble tuning the A string and it didn't occur to me that I had used the wrong string! So the low E and the A strings have swapped positions. This mistake doesn't surprise me at all since I'm not very good at doing these things by myself.

Is it possible to swap those strings or should I buy a new set of strings?
next time try to ignore the color coding confusion and just string your guitar from fattest string to skinniest string.

edit: get new strings, because if you try to change their positions they are more likely to snap. This is mostly because you already bent the string at the tuners, since the A string tuner is farther away than the E string tuner, the bent part on the string that was on you E string tuner will not be wrapped around the A string tuner and will be stretched freely between the tuner and the nut, making it very likely to snap while tuning or just randomly. Hope you understood all the rubbish.
Last edited by bustapr at Jun 30, 2011,
I think it should be wise to buy a new set (or, if possible, only the lowest strings separately). Since you've rounded the strings around the tuning knobs, it would be pretty messy job getting them out and straight again. Haven't ever tried, though.
Thanks for the thorough advice everyone. I'm going to remove the two strings and I will get myself a new set. From now on, I will check the string thickness instead of color
Dunno if you're still reading these, but for the record: I don't agree with these guys (at least not entirely)

Quote by Munq