Well, I just got my Gibson Sg Standard - Heritage Cherry, and a line 6 spider iv 75 amplifier. I am not that good at guitar yet, I just know power chords mostly. I would love to get advices on how to play solo's, for example which scales to practice on and such. Basically anything to help me become better on solo's and generally playing songs is welcome. I want to play rock/hard rock mostly, like AC/DC, Metallica, Iron Maiden, you know, that kind of stuff.

Thanks in advance,
Fiery96.
your just starting and you have a Gibson Standard?!?

Try Highway to Hell its pretty easy.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
Last edited by Most_Triumphant at Jun 30, 2011,
Quote by Fiery96
Well, I just got my Gibson Sg Standard - Heritage Cherry, and a line 6 spider iv 75 amplifier. I am not that good at guitar yet, I just know power chords mostly. I would love to get advices on how to play solo's, for example which scales to practice on and such. Basically anything to help me become better on solo's and generally playing songs is welcome. I want to play rock/hard rock mostly, like AC/DC, Metallica, Iron Maiden, you know, that kind of stuff.

Thanks in advance,
Fiery96.

1)
Quote by Most_Triumphant
your just starting and you have a Gibson Standard?!?

This

2) What you really need is a new amp

3) Metallica, Iron maiden = rock/hard rock

4) Start with AC DC, buy guitar pro, download tabs, learn to read them, play as in tab, if you have any trouble with technique, consult with youtube
I bought the amp together with it and the amp was said to be good. Anything wrong? :P
Quote by Fiery96
I bought the amp together with it and the amp was said to be good. Anything wrong? :P

I thought line 6 spider amps were considered to be the pinnacle of worst amps ever..

"What you really need is a new amp"