One thing I keep noticing is that every time I try to execute a hammer on or pull off my pinky stretches waaaaay back away from the fret board. I've been playing for about 5 years now and it's something I want to fix but I don't know how :|
I found myself opposite

My pinky doesnt curl up and when I see everybody elses, their pinky does curl. That had me worried too. It is really nothing to worry about.

Try using your pinky more often for pull offs and so forth. How? Just practice, and eventually it will feel natural. It will feel weird at first but it doesnt take overnight. It wont affect your playing/technique as far as I know but someone did tell me pinky curling is counter-productive...
Quote by ltate15
I found myself opposite

My pinky doesnt curl up and when I see everybody elses, their pinky does curl. That had me worried too. It is really nothing to worry about.

Try using your pinky more often for pull offs and so forth. How? Just practice, and eventually it will feel natural. It will feel weird at first but it doesnt take overnight. It wont affect your playing/technique as far as I know but someone did tell me pinky curling is counter-productive...

Wut? TS didn't mention curling at all. Perhaps you should read the post before posting. And yes, curling your pinky is a bad habit. If your fingers only have to move 2 millimeters instead of 2 centimeters, you will be more accurate and faster.

TS, if you've been playing like that for 5 years, it's probably going to take a really long time to break the habit. But basically all it is is consciously trying to keep your pinky closer to the fretboard. Just go slow.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Quote by ChakanaX