I have a fender MIM strat and it's got the stock bridge (vintage style trem). Since I'm just getting into electric, this is my first. Tuning was fine until I got new strings and now it's impossible to tune. I tighten one string, and all the others go flat. I loosen one string, and all the others go sharp. How do I tune this damned thing??
How heavy are your strings? Cause if they're to thick you'll have to tighten the springs in the back. Also pull on the strings after you tune it, giving them a good yank settles them into the nut, and tightens them on the tuning pegs. If you're afraid of breaking them, just do really big bends, it has the same effect.
What he said^
I'm so happy. I get to eat a muffin.
Quote by space aids
You are so happy to eat a muffin it's kinda scary.
Quote by ali.guitarkid7
Goes around tryina light dudes on fire.
Quote by MakinLattes
Too much Sublime.

I tell a lie, there is no such thing.
Last edited by Robbin'TheHood at Jul 1, 2011,
Quote by rob904
How heavy are your strings? Cause if they're to thick you'll have to tighten the springs in the back. Also pull on the strings after you tune it, giving them a good yank settles them into the nut, and tightens them on the tuning pegs. If you're afraid of breaking them, just do really big bends, it has the same effect.

Not too heavy at all. Ernie Ball .10 regulars.
Last edited by shimeister at Jul 1, 2011,
Quote by shimeister
Not too heavy at all. Ernie Ball .10 regulars

Then get it in tune, stretch the strings, re-tune. Do it until it stays in tune
Quote by rob904
Then get it in tune, stretch the strings, re-tune. Do it until it stays in tune

I've been pulling and bending and stretching but to no effect. At one point I was able to get it in tune but the trem was so far our it was probably 45 degrees from the body...
sounds like your tuning too high.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)