Hi,
I have been playing guitar for several years now, but after (really) hundreds of internet lessons I still have a problem with improvising solo's...
The problem is: when I have a certain chord progression as the rhythm part and I want to play a solo over that progression, I never seem to get in which key I should play the solo.
Of course, if all the chords are in the same key ( let's say Am,F, C, G) I know I have to play the solo in that key (C). But in many songs all the chords are in different keys. Do I have to alternate my solo's in different keys, do i have to use modes or arppegio's, should I play the according scale over each specific chord I am playing...?
I askes it to many people, but no one has been able to give me useful advice...
It's really frustrating to see that I cannot figure this out, I hope you can help me...
yes all of those will help your solos sound more fitting
but try to look at the notes in the chords and what function the chords have

jus curious what kind of music do oyu listen to/play that has all of the chords in different keys?
One thing you can do is follow the key changes.

What also works pretty well it to use chord notes at first and then experiment with adding in some other notes.

Also, try to find the notes that occur in all the keys or in keys that are adjacent in the song. They can work well when moving from one key to the other. Notes that occur in all of the keys are safe to play at any point in the song.
Are you sure it's in different keys? the melodic and harmonic minor can sometimes make it seem like a song is changing keys because of the way the 6th and 7th move, without actually changing the key
Focus on each individual chord rather than trying to fit a scale to the whole thing. A couple of people have mentioned using chord tones (the notes that make up the chord: ) this is a great start and will help you sound good even over borrowed/chromatic harmony.