Hey everyone. I've been playing six-string guitar for about 2, maybe 3 years. Maybe I've gone the wrong way about learning, but for the most part, I've only taught myself through writing my own music and sometimes playing with other musicians' songs - I've never memorized anything, but rather practice and maybe record. I guess I'm more into making/producing music than actually playing the instrument, not to say that I don't enjoy playing.
Growing more and more interested in progressive metal and the sound a seven-string guitar provides, I'm probably going to purchase one some time next week. And I'm basically asking for tips when it comes to learning the instrument, and how to go about practicing it; maybe develop some skills to start playing with a band in the future. If anybody can do that, or maybe link me to some tabs or online lessons, that'd be great.

THANKS!
Just the same as learning a 6-string, just with a fatter neck and another string, but it will take some getting used to. Check out Agile or Ibanez's 7s.

Also, all the bands that I can think of that play 7's is: later Trivium, Unearth, All Shall Perish (iirc), Scar Symmetry, Flaw, Emperor, sometimes Dream Theater, and you can play Soilwork by tuning the B string to F# (and any other B standard bands).

EDIT: and Adagio, but most of their stuff is probably above your skill level if you've only been playing for a few years.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
Last edited by JagerSlushy at Jul 1, 2011,
just learn it. the only difference is a low B string. u learn by practice, and learn how to incorporate the low B for more than just chug chug riffs through more practice.
Equipment:

ESP F104 Bass
Spector Legend 5 Classic Bass
ESP B206SM Bass
Axl Mayhem Fireaxe Guitar