I'm an intermediate but still beginner player with 0 professional tutoring. I listen to mostly metal music which is a hard genre to start out with. bands such august burns red, miss may i, parkway drive etc.

What I'm looking for is to get better. right now i get overwhelmed and feel like my learning is very slow.

with no professional tutoring i feel like i'm missing pieces of the puzzle to actually be good at guitar. I feel like i know harder stuff then i should know, and dont know a lot of the easier stuff

What i really want is just a guide of what i need to learn. like a link to a really good thread for my style where i can look to, to learn basic to advance. Things i can practice on such as scales

it would be awesome if someone could help me out!
      Quote by jrenkert
      Learn another genre, by which i mean: Expand your horizons.
      what would be a good genre to work my way into metal
      any particular bands you like? learn a whole album and start every song slow and bring it up to tempo then.
      as for developing you're musical possibilities i'd say start at the 60's and bring you're musical stuff up around that way. with this methode you learn a lot of technique like sabbath to hendrix style to zeppelin to maiden to metallica and so on. you cant get more advanced than being able to play everything.

also to expand your horizons jazz and blues are pretty straigth forward.
      Quote by wolvenrick
      any particular bands you like? learn a whole album and start every song slow and bring it up to tempo then.
      as for developing you're musical possibilities i'd say start at the 60's and bring you're musical stuff up around that way. with this methode you learn a lot of technique like sabbath to hendrix style to zeppelin to maiden to metallica and so on. you cant get more advanced than being able to play everything.

also to expand your horizons jazz and blues are pretty straigth forward.

Good call