I got this amp from a builder the other day, its circuit is based off a Marshall 1974 I think but currently its unfinished. I was given this amp to test the tone before the builder made some finishing touches based on my feedback and he informed me that there would be some buzz until he finished with the touching up. I posted this as an NAD and it seems there was overwhelming criticism for the wiring. Im not an expert on amps or circuitry and i want to make sure i get my money's worth, What follows is a gut shot of the amplifier and what im asking is, what outstanding issues do you see that i could bring up to my builder and are there any issues you see that appear to be unfix-able?

Some useful details. It runs on 2 EL84's, 2 channel amp. It has 4 12AX7 preamp tubes, and one is either used as a rectifier or a phase inverter, im not sure.

Last edited by ticktockboom at Jul 2, 2011,
can you zoom out a little bit and take a picture and take a picture of the amp from behind as well. the opposite angle of the current picture.

also maybe ask the builder for a picture of what he considers to be a finished amp.
Prs se Holcomb is the answer
Last edited by AcousticMirror at Jul 2, 2011,
Can you get me a picture of the entire amp internals. I'd like to see everything going on in that amp. Especially where the wires from the IEC power inlet are going.

I saw where you asked me about what I meant last night, but I fell asleep before I got a chance to finish with everything and when I clicked post it wasn't there. I'm going to look back over the pictures today and get a feel for what is going on in the amp and then post. It looks like there is a lot of stuff going on that isn't entirely kosher in that amp.

EDIT: And like I said, if you like the amp then its a pretty good deal for a tube amp, the wiring just looks very bad to me. And if the builder is going to be tweaking it to your liking there are a few things he can touch up on.
Last edited by XgamerGt04 at Jul 2, 2011,