Hello UG, mostly new guy around, a beginner guitarist with a Epi Les Paul and a Vox VT20+ here.

Ahem.

I have been playing for a month now and now have some pretty heavy duty calluses on the tip of my fingers. So thick in fact that will never feel any pain or discomfort whatsoever, even after spending hours playing. I use Ernie Ball regular slinky, which are a bit harsher than the D'Addario XL, that I don't like so much, and I have no trouble with them. The problem is, I'm pretty hyped up about achieving my goal of playing better than Petrucci, but after a month of walking my fingers around my rosewood fretboard, I find that the tip of my fingers is very ugly and constantly peeling off. The skin is pretty thick still, no problem at all, but the skin is constantly breaking and, well, peeling off layer by layer. It doesn't affect my playing, mind you, but I'm a salesman and I have to be kind of conscious about my appearance, and my fingertips don't really look the part.

My question is, is this the case for every guitarist, is this normal? Or will it go away with time and will my calluses build even thicker and will the skin stop breaking and peeling off?

P.S.: My calluses were built from scratch after I blistered my fingertips after playing too much the first two days after I bought my ax, so the skin was born already used to the damage of the strings... I didn't build the calluses over time, I had them basically fully grown after a single week :P
• '10 Epiphone Les Paul
• '96 Epiphone Rebel EM-1
• '10 Jackson JS32T Rhoads
• Vox Valvetronix VT20+
• Fame GTA40
• Zoom GX7.1u
• Boss MT-2 Metal Zone
• Jim Dunlop Ultex Jazz III 2mm
Last edited by Tiago Sa at Jul 2, 2011,
Quote by Tiago Sa
Hello UG, mostly new guy around, a beginner guitarist with a Epi Les Paul and a Vox VT20+ here.

Ahem.