Just got a basic fender squire kit that includes all the stuff you need to start but i have a few questions what makes the knobs on the uitar diffrent from the amp? and also does anyone know any beginner well known songs to learn?.
Thanks im new to electric guitar but not guitar (ive been playing acoustic for a few months)
1. the volume knob makes the sound a harder or softer, cous on a concert you don't have time to run to your amp and turn the volume down
2. Smells like teen spirit, Smoke on the water, and some basic chords
Gear:

Squier Stratocaster Sunburst
Boss Turbo Distortion DS-2
Crate, don't know which type :P
Roland Cube X15
Small Clone Harmonics Full Chorus
Standard Wah
Acoustic Redhill Guitar
RP-55 Multi Effect Pedal
Welcome to the forum. the knobs on the guitar (Stratocaster style) are used for Volume and tone controls, the top knob is youe volume and the bottom 2 are tone. you use these in conjunction with the 5 way blade switch to choose the pickup or pickups that you want. If you notice everytime you move the 5 way switch the guitar produces a diffrent sound. This can help you get the tone you want easier.
Look on you tube at songs you like, there are tons of people that post how to play this song... videos. they may not be all correct, but it all helps in learning.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Don't know what you listen to or like, but you could try any of these songs, they are fairly easy, just start off slow, use a metronome if you have one:

Green Day - Brain Stew, Walking Contradiction, American Idiot
Nirvana - Come As You Are, Polly, About A Girl, Pennyroyal Tea, hell almost all of their songs are easy
Rolling Stones - Satisfaction
AC/DC - Shook Me All Night Long, the intro to Thunderstruck
Breaking Benjamin - So Cold
Three Days Grace - Animal I've Become