I've been playing bass for a year or so (and guitar for a few years more) and I might be playing with a band (classic/hard rock) soon, with the intention of getting a few gigs. Just some local pubs or clubs. BUT: I've never played live before! As a result all I have is my bass, and a 15 watt amp (Line 6 LD15).

My question to the all-knowing bass forum is...what setup would you recommend? I assume a bigger amp is required, but what power/type? Combo or not? Any absolutely essential pedals or gadgets?

I haven't got a huge budget, so I'm really just looking for a basic setup, that would cover most small live situations. I know this is quite a broad question, but a few tips from anyone currently playing gigs like this would be a huge help. Thanks!
15 watts for a bass doesnt seems loud enough, but im a guitar player, so what could i know, you dont really need any pedal for classic/hard rock
Ya definitely a bigger amp... I use a 250 watt and thats usually enough for a big room, sometimes its miced though. Combo's are way easier... but ya get whatever you prefer and can afford

you dont have to worry about pedals... but I like using some compressor, chorus, reverb, and EQ... distortions handy everyone once in a while too... you can get a multi FX pedal that does all these really well, the Boss one is great
GUITARS
Burswood Acoustic
Squier Affinity Strat
Fender Tele Deluxe
BASS
Ibanez Jetking bass
AMPS
Marshall MG30DFX
Peavey max 158 bass amp
Fender Bassman 250
1979 Carvin of some sort
And some pedals
Sorry, let's say around £250? Don't mind selling the LD15, and used isn't a problem for me.
A good big bass amp is liekly to cost alot and it will be very heavy.

Do it in cheap and light way like me. Buy a good multi-fx unit > mixer

you will have effects , dfferent amp sims , dist.. etc

Note: Yes im too lazy to varry my 35kg 1x15 cab to every bar show...

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Bugera Fire Wall Half Stack
^