Maybe try warming up more? Or a more regimented practice schedule? I don't really know. I know if I just pick up my guitar, I'm not nearly as good as if I've warmed up properly for a bit.
good as far as what? it sounds like you just aren't giving yourself enough warm-up time... you're only seeing progress after giving your fingers a really good warm up. very few people can just pick up a guitar and shred (i wouldn't recommend it even if you could), i've been playing for 12+ years and i always warm-up before goin nuts (or even just messing around/jamming). bands like exmortus (crazy super fast death-thrash), go to one of their shows and the dudes are standing around warming up for like an hour before the gig. play as fast as you can (legatos, picking,whatever techniques you use) until your fingers feel tired, give them a short break (10-15 mins) and then try playing. only do this after a slow 10-15min warm up of course to loosen up your fingers or you can cause damage to your hand.
as far as the next day thing, it's like working any other muscle...they have time to relax so you basically start from square one. hope it helps.
Last edited by axeinurface at Jul 3, 2011,
stretch out your fingers, play some basic scales, then start playing what you want to play. Just warming up will help a lot.
Perhaps your fingers are stretching out more and allow you to move more fluently.
What helps me is playing lots of different chord progressions first. It seems like when i play rhythm first and then other fast stuff, it stretches out my fingers. hope that helps!
I do warm up for usually for at least 10 mins. Even after an hour of playing my fingers aren't agile enough to play really fast or technical stuff or sweeps until I've been playing for a couple of hours. Once I do get to that point though I feel like Neo; my playing really comes together and I feel like I could play anything, but that doesn't happen unless I've been playing for at least 3 or 4 hours. I play every day too.