Hi guys,

I'm trying to work out how to record onto my PC from my electric guitar, I've tried using three different microphones in the microphone ports on the front and the back of my computer, but it only seems to record very quietly, even with my amp cranked up and sat right in front of the microphone.

I have audacity, fruity loops and cubase but I can't work out any way of creating a direct line in from my effects pedal or my amp using any of these programs, although I've literally only just started using cubase, so I'm not too good with it.

Any ideas?

P.S. My effects pedal is a Zoom G2, if that makes any difference...
Hey Godge, have you tried using the USB connection from your G2 to the PC?

1. Install the driver of the G2 in your computer (don't think you will need it at all, but just in case)
2. Plug the guitar to the G2 and the G2 to you computer
3. Start a recording software (i would recommend you to try the REAPER, it's the one I use to record with my POD HD500)
4. Check your settings in Reaper (you should select ASIO for your G2)
5. Click on 'record armed' (a red button that you see off when you open a new track).
6. Start playing to see if the signal goes through
7. Click on 'record' and start bashing away xD

I hope it helps
Unfortunately there is no USB connection on my G2, but I'm going to give reaper a go just using the microphone input anyway.
Your mic signal is quiet because it aint loud enough.

It the absolutely stupid, simple truth.

You need A) an interface that's got some mic pres on it (Alesis i02 is around $100 USD), or B) some type of Direct Input device.

The cheapest I've found is the Vox AC-30 Amplug. It's about $30-$40 USD, and turns your guitar sound into something you can listen to on headphones, or route, yes, into the "mic" hole on your computer.

...I would suggest "line," though, if you've got it. Less noise and other nonsense.