I have a Traynor YCV50 which I've been playing for about 5 years. Recently, I haven't been playing it much, but I've noticed that the volume is cutting out drastically quite often and that there's often clipping even at low volumes. Is this a sign that it's finally time to change the tubes, or could this be something more insidious?
Quote by BeefWellington

what's the point in being "philiosophical"?

Interesting question...
seems like a good excuse to buy a shiny new amp
Call me Dom
Quote by Dmaj7
I don't know how to count canadians, the metric system is hard

Quote by gregs1020
well if lbj pokes his head in here and there's no nuts shit's gonna go doooooooowwwwwwwwwn.

{Pedalboard Thread Native: The Muffin Man}
insidious?

your amp is definitely possessed.

i think it will require a priest.
Prs se Holcomb is the answer
How terrifically helpful, thanks.

I already knew the amp was possessed, that's the source of my incredible power. I don't want to exorcise the demon prince who lives in the preamp, I want to know if I should buy new tubes, damnit.
Quote by BeefWellington

Interesting question...
Quote by Vornik

I already knew the amp was possessed, that's the source of my incredible power. I don't want to exorcise the demon prince who lives in the preamp, I want to know if I should buy new tubes, damnit.

Yes, it's time for new tubes.
yeah just tubes.
Gibson SG Special Faded(Super Distortion/PAF Pro)
Carvin V3M
Jet City JCA2112RC
Taylor 114e
Ibanez SR300e

Quote by Delanoir
In 60 years, there will still be Opeth.
You know why?
Death ain't got **** on Mikael.
Cool, thanks.
Quote by BeefWellington

Interesting question...
If your volume is drastically dropping at random, then that's usually a sure-fire indicator of your power tubes on the way out.
Gear:
Fender AVRI '62 Jazzmaster, Fender Gold Sparkle Strat (custom), Custom Swirled Roswell Rhoads
Marshall DSL15H, Weber Speakers, Fender Champs (x2),